Enemy Pie

Enemy Pie was written by Derek Munson and illustrated by Tara Calahan. Is about a little boy around 10 years old that was having an amazing summer but one day his enemy Jeremy Ross moved houses, right next to him. He did not like that because he was not invited to any of his birthdays and his friends were. He went to his dad and asked: “How do you get rid of an enemy?” His dad said “There’s only one way and that’s, Enemy Pie. but first, you have to play with him for the day while I make the pie.” So he played with his enemy Jeremy Ross for the entire day. When the pie was ready He didn’t want Jeremy to eat it because he was such a good friend. In the end, the pie was just another way to make new friends. One of the connections I made was playing with my friends on my street. In the book The kid plays with Jeremy on his street, this is a good example of a text to self. Another connection I made was when  I read my mom’s cooking book and there was a pie just like in the book, this is another example of text to text. The third connection I made was to the media. I was watching a show about friendship and not to judge a person by first appeal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *